Professors Takashi Sato, Tokuro Mizushina and Kaneyasu Nishikawa on their 65th birthdays and retirement from the Honorary Editorial Advisory Board

It is a great pleasure for us to celebrate the 65th birthdays of three concurrent outstanding scholars, Dr Takashi Sato, Dr Tokuro Mizushina and Dr Kaneyasu Nishikawa, of whom the heat transfer community of Japan has been very proud. We would like to take this opportunity to portray the preceding three scholastic giants together with the way that the Heat Transfer Society of Japan has progressed during the past 25 years.

Dr Mizushina, Dr Sato and Dr Nishikawa had taken the full professorship consecutively before and after 1960 due to their outstanding academic achievements and contributed much toward the improvement of scientific skills in the realm of heat transfer studies. In the early 1960s many researchers in Japan had already been well aware of the excellent technical expertise and the administrative capabilities of the three young and vigorous professors who had made enthusiastic efforts in building up a scientific foundation for the heat transfer studies in Japan through their foreseeing outlook.

In 1961 the Heat Transfer Society of Japan was founded with a few other colleagues and, subsequently, in 1964 the First Heat Transfer Symposium of Japan was held in Kyoto and thereafter, the symposium has been held every year up to now. The Heat Transfer Society of Japan is a unique homelike society which has borne the broad line of disciplines in science and engineering, and the symposia and/or seminars sponsored by the society have been wide open for the stimulative discussions on which Japanese industrial developments in the field have been based. The Heat Transfer Society of Japan has now around one thousand members belonging to universities, research institutions and private industries whose academic backgrounds are mechanical engineering, chemical engineering, space and aeronautical engineering, nuclear engineering, applied physics, architecture, etc. and more than 250 technical papers were presented at a recent symposium.

The various kinds of technical activities undertaken in the heat transfer community of Japan have all been more or less indebted to the three prominent scholars and amongst the many contributions it has to be specially noted that they had concentrated their exertions not only through their academic activities but also their administrative skills to cut open the path for tying the Japanese community up with the international societies. Professor Sato joined the editorial board of this journal in 1961 and subsequently Professor Mizushina and later Professor Nishikawa also served as members of the Honorary Editorial Advisory Board for many years. The highlight, regarding the international events, was the 5th International Heat Transfer Conference, Tokyo, held in 1974 at the time of the first oil crisis.

On behalf of Japanese researchers in the heat transfer community we would like to express our sincere thanks to these three for a very valuable contribution.

> Yasuo Mori Ichiro Tanasawa Ryozo Echigo